Moab Ride Report - Woo-hoo!!

Anything about trailriding - tell us about your favorite trail or bail!

Moderators: OMRA, dlharte, oregonsage, Tawmass

E-Ticket
AA Pro Class
AA Pro Class

Moab Ride Report - Woo-hoo!!

Postby E-Ticket » Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:24 pm

Mileage: 2000 miles and four days of driving
Gasoline: $200
Hotel: $227.60
Food and snackies: ummm... more

Being able to ride Moab and it's slick-rock for two days: Priceless

On a Monday, we found out via Facebook that our good riding buddies, Pierre and Jennifer, were planning on driving over to check out Colorado and stopping to ride in Moab. MOAB..??!!!!!

Riding in Moab has always been a dream of mine ever since I started riding dirtbikes back at 14 years old. So yes, it's been a long-term dream. So Susan checked if she could re-arrange her work schedule - and she could! - but had to be back by the following Friday due to a work commitment.

So the 48 Hour Moab Roadtrip/Slickrock T-t-tour was .... on! :ride

Blew out of town on Saturday, stayed in Boise w/ relatives, and drove on to Moab on Sunday.
Holy cow, even the view from the Super Motel 8 Motel parking lot was stunning!

And yes, Pierre was *really* ready to go riding... <LOL>

Day 1 - Soveriegn Trail

Temps were fantastic - blues skies, 40's at night, 77F during the day. After stopping by the Poison Spider bicycle shop for some awesome maps, we decided to the Soveriegn Trail to get everyone's feet wet on slickrock before tackling the tougher trails. Shoot, even the drive out to the trailhead was gorgeous!

The Soverign Trail is a mix of sand and rock trail punctuated by sections of slickrock and challenging rocky trail. Can be done by aggressive beginners but more suited to intermediate dirt bikers.